MYERS, ALEXANDER JOHN WILLIAM (1877-1975)
MYERS, ALEXANDER JOHN WILLIAM, Presbyterian minister, Black River and Napan, 1905-09; b. Lake Verde, P.E.I., 17 Dec 1877, s/o Charles Myers and Sarah Margaret Moore; m. 1st, 1912, Mae Ethel Dickinson, of Toronto, and 2nd, Helen Penelope Ramsay; d. Toronto, 2 Dec 1975.
A. J. William Myers was educated at Prince of Wales College and Dalhousie University (BA 1902, MA 1904) and was trained for the ministry at Knox College, Toronto, and the Presbyterian College, Halifax (grad. 1905, BD 1907). He was ordained in 1905 and had his first pastorate at Black River and Napan. It was stated that he gave the congregation at Black River the inspiration and courage needed to erect a new church, at a cost of $6,000, to replace the original one. The new St Stephen's Church was opened on 30 December 1906 and was debt-free within three years. He also pressed for the renovation of Carmel Church at Napan and the small church at Hardwicke Village, which was later named Myers Church in his honor.
When Myers resigned at Black River in 1909 it was to enroll in Columbia University in New York, where he took a PhD in religious education in 1912. He was stationed in Toronto as educational secretary of the Presbyterian Church in Canada until 1918. From then until 1944 he was head of the religious education department at the Hartford Seminary in Hartford, Conn. He was a widely-travelled lecturer and the author of more than two dozen religious, historical, and children's works. His book, What is Religious Education? (1925), was translated into Portuguese, and his book, Teaching Religion Creatively (1932), into Japanese.
Myers returned to Canada in 1944 and had charges at Belleville and elsewhere in Ontario. He was retired in Toronto from 1949 until his death in 1975, at nearly ninety-eight years of age. He was survived by his second wife, Helen P. Ramsay.
[b] Can. Who's Who 1936 [m] World 7 Dec 1912 [d] annual (Toronto) 1976 / Leader 21 Dec 1906, 17 Sep 1909, 22 Sep 1993; News 26 Sep 1984; Observer Feb 1976; Walkington; World 2 Jan 1907, 25 Sep 1909, 21 Nov 1917