PARK, WILLIAM ADAM (1853-1924)
PARK, WILLIAM ADAM, lawyer, MLA, and collector of customs; b. Douglastown, 27 Jun 1853, s/o William Park and Margaret MacLaggan; m. 1909, Edith Winslow, d/o Francis Edward Winslow and Constance Mary Hansard; d. Newcastle, 8 Jun 1924.
William A. Park received his education in Newcastle schools and at the Presbyterian Academy in Chatham, under William Crocket. He studied law with Allan A. Davidson Sr and was admitted to the bar in 1876. In the same year, he opened an office in Newcastle and was elected to the County Council. He sat for three years on the council and served a one-year term as warden. In 1882 he won a seat in the provincial Assembly. He was successful again in the election of 1886 but resigned the following year when he was appointed collector of customs at Newcastle. He also discontinued his law practice at that time. He retained the customs position until 1923 and then retired on a government pension.
Park was a Mason and was worshipful master of Northumberland Lodge in 1878 and 1880. In 1895 he was named to the senate of the University of New Brunswick, and for a number of years he was the only resident of the Miramichi or northern New Brunswick who had a part to play in the governing of the provincial university. From 1902 through 1905 he was president of the Highland Society. During World War I he was a director of the Canadian Patriotic Fund. He was the first president of the Miramichi Hospital Board, serving from 1916 to 1919, and he was a trustee of St James Presbyterian Church.
In the 1880s Park was a frequent guest at Camp Adams, the fishing hideaway which Michael Adams owned on the Northwest, and he continued to follow the sport of salmon angling for some years. He later cultivated an interest in curling and was elected president of the club at Newcastle in 1909. He and his wife, Edith Winslow, had a son, Francis W. Park.
[b] church records [m] Leader 4 Jun 1909 [d] Leader 13 Jun 1924 / Advance 30 Aug 1888, 8 Aug 1889; Advocate 28 Apr 1875, 3 May 1876, 25 Dec 1895, 14 Dec 1909, 5 Dec 1922; Gill; Graves; Hist. Highland Soc.; Manny Collection (F182); PPMP